Hall of Fame

YMCAs of the Southeast Hall of Fame

This year's induction ceremony will take place on September18, 2024.

Overview and Purpose

The YMCAs of the Southeast Hall of Fame at YMCA Blue Ridge provides a forum to recognize YMCA professionals and volunteers from the Southeastern United States who exemplify a lifetime of commitment to the mission and cause of the YMCA in their respective community. It honors individuals – YMCA professionals and volunteers alike – who have devoted their lives to strengthening their local community through their devotion and dedication to serving others, thereby making a positive impact on individuals, on their community, and the YMCA movement throughout the Southeast.

Since its founding in 1906,YMCA Blue Ridge has partnered with the Y movement by establishing itself as a place where Y staff can come together to discuss, and sometimes debate, issues of social concern and determine how the Y should respond. Now for over 100 years, YMCA Blue Ridge has provided a platform where men and women of all races, colors, and creeds could gather. In a safe environment, people have the opportunity to learn the importance of intellectual responsibility in their faith and internalize their life values. It is fitting for the YMCAs of the Southeast Hall of Fame to be a program of YMCA Blue Ridge and for the Assembly to provide staff support to the committed volunteers serving on the Southeast Hall of Fame Committee.

The Southeast Hall of Fame is housed in the historic Eureka Hall overlooking the beautiful Craggy and Black Mountain ranges. Pictures and accomplishments of the inductees are displayed to not only honor the inductees but to inspire young people to become YMCA volunteers or staff in the future helping to ensure the success of the YMCA movement over time.

Inductions into the YMCAs of the Southeast Hall of Fame will take place annually in conjunction with the fall meeting of the YMCA Blue Ridge Board of Directors at the Assembly. For information on the induction process, download an application, or contact Melissa Bailey Logan at .

The 2024 nomination process will open on October 1, 2023 and close on March 15, 2024. View the nomination form below.

YMCAS of the Southeast Hall of Fame Recipients

Class of 2023

Fred Ashford
Andy Calhoun
Charles Cleveland
Susan Landergan
Jim Woods

Legacy Inductees

Colquitt Clark

Class of 2022

Reid Ashe
Chuck Harris
Suzanne Mabie
George Rehnquist
Phil Wortman

Legacy Inductees

Claude Whitehead
Earle Whittington

Class of 2021

Willie Proctor
George Shinhoster
Ridley Wills II

Legacy Inductees

Betty Carr
Wyatt and Lillian Taylor
Tom and Pat Thrailkill

Class of 2019

Clark Baker
C. Allen Favrot
Norman Joyner

Legacy Inductees

Joseph Bransby​​​​​​​
William Chandler
​​​​​​​Don Kyzer

Class of 2018

Norman Urquhart
Kent Rea
Willis Bradford

Legacy Inductees

Catherine Helms
Fulton Johnson
George Creswell


Class of 2017

Jim Leiby
Barbara Roper
Herb Wilkinson

Legacy Inductees

H.G. Hill Sr.
Tracey Sullivan
Frank M. “Scotty” Washburn

National YMCA Hall of Fame Recipients

Class of 2016

Ron Kinnamon

Class of 2013

William M. Barnhardt
Quentin R. Mease
Anthony Bowen
Luther D. Wishard

Class of 2004

Harry H. Brace
Richard W. MacMorran

Class of 2006

Julius Jones
Adrian B. Moody
William V. Phillips

Class of 2001

Thomas B. Hargrave

Class of 2000

Bev R. Laws
Jesse Moorland

Class of 1997

Paul M. Grist

Class of 1995

Earl P. Armstrong

Class of 1993

Willis D. Weatherford

Class of 1992

William A. Hunton

Class of 1985

Paul M. Limbert